Sylvie Meunier

Mister K

02.17.1958. Mister K leaves home, only to return eight months later. Eight months during which he drives across the United States, immersed in his memories, driving at a frantic pace to what seems to be the end of the world.

As a visual artist, Sylvie Meunier collects vernacular photographs, a living material that she seizes and reappropriates to construct imaginary narratives. For Mister K, she plays on the atmospheres and photographic codes of B&W and, for the first time, combines the work of collecting images with that of writing. The story plunges the reader into an atmosphere that is part detective story, part auto-fiction. The narrator is fleeing a supposedly traumatic event: like a road-movie, as he travels along highways and motels, he spins out his childhood memories and those of a beloved woman who mysteriously disappeared...

In this “photographic novel”, where images alternate with textual incisions, Sylvie Meunier leads an intrigue bordering on the fantastic. Genres mingle to create a singular work: part photography book, part literary narrative, part cinematic fiction, part psychological investigation... The visual power of the images and the narrative rhythm, draw the reader into a universe that is both strange and familiar, that of Beat Generation America, the golden age of Hollywood film noir.

Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Sylvie Meunier

Mister K

39,00 €

02.17.1958. Mister K leaves home, only to return eight months later. Eight months during which he drives across the United States, immersed in his memories, driving at a frantic pace to what seems to be the end of the world.

As a visual artist, Sylvie Meunier collects vernacular photographs, a living material that she seizes and reappropriates to construct imaginary narratives. For Mister K, she plays on the atmospheres and photographic codes of B&W and, for the first time, combines the work of collecting images with that of writing. The story plunges the reader into an atmosphere that is part detective story, part auto-fiction. The narrator is fleeing a supposedly traumatic event: like a road-movie, as he travels along highways and motels, he spins out his childhood memories and those of a beloved woman who mysteriously disappeared...

In this “photographic novel”, where images alternate with textual incisions, Sylvie Meunier leads an intrigue bordering on the fantastic. Genres mingle to create a singular work: part photography book, part literary narrative, part cinematic fiction, part psychological investigation... The visual power of the images and the narrative rhythm, draw the reader into a universe that is both strange and familiar, that of Beat Generation America, the golden age of Hollywood film noir.

Softcover, 16,5 x 21,5 cm
352 pages
About 200 B&W photographs 

Photographs and text (in French)
Sylvie Meunier

Link to the video bookflip




ISBN : 978-2-36511-303-8

Cart  

No products

0,00 € Shipping
0,00 € Total

Cart Check out

Sylvie Meunier

Mister K

17.02.1958. Mister K part de chez lui pour n’y revenir que huit mois plus tard. Huit mois durant lesquels i l traverse les États-Unis en voiture, plongé dans ses souvenirs, roulant à un rythme effréné jusqu’à ce qui semble être le bout du monde.

Artiste plasticienne, Sylvie Meunier collecte des photographies vernaculaires, une matière dont elle s'empare et qu’elle se réapproprie pour construire des récits imaginaires. Dans Mister K, Meunier associe, pour la première fois, son travail de collecte d’images à l’écriture fictionnelle en jouant avec les codes photographiques du N&B et ceux narratifs du roman policier. Son récit immerge le lecteur dans une atmosphère mi-polar, mi auto-fiction. Le narrateur fuit un événement qu’on suppose traumatique : tel un road-movie, au fil des highways et des motels, il égrène ses souvenirs d’enfance et celui d’une femme aimée, mystérieusement disparue…

Dans ce « roman photographique » où alternent images et incises textuelles, Sylvie Meunier mène une intrigue à la limite du fantastique. Les genres se mêlent pour créer une oeuvre singulière : à la fois livre de photographies, récit littéraire, fiction cinématographique, investigation psychologique… La puissance visuelle des images et le rythme narratif mené sur le mode du « je » entraînent le lecteur dans un univers à la fois étrange et familier, celui d’une Amérique de la Beat Generation, d’un âge d’or du film noir hollywoodien.

Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Mister K
Sylvie Meunier

Mister K

39,00 €

17.02.1958. Mister K part de chez lui pour n’y revenir que huit mois plus tard. Huit mois durant lesquels i l traverse les États-Unis en voiture, plongé dans ses souvenirs, roulant à un rythme effréné jusqu’à ce qui semble être le bout du monde.

Artiste plasticienne, Sylvie Meunier collecte des photographies vernaculaires, une matière dont elle s'empare et qu’elle se réapproprie pour construire des récits imaginaires. Dans Mister K, Meunier associe, pour la première fois, son travail de collecte d’images à l’écriture fictionnelle en jouant avec les codes photographiques du N&B et ceux narratifs du roman policier. Son récit immerge le lecteur dans une atmosphère mi-polar, mi auto-fiction. Le narrateur fuit un événement qu’on suppose traumatique : tel un road-movie, au fil des highways et des motels, il égrène ses souvenirs d’enfance et celui d’une femme aimée, mystérieusement disparue…

Dans ce « roman photographique » où alternent images et incises textuelles, Sylvie Meunier mène une intrigue à la limite du fantastique. Les genres se mêlent pour créer une oeuvre singulière : à la fois livre de photographies, récit littéraire, fiction cinématographique, investigation psychologique… La puissance visuelle des images et le rythme narratif mené sur le mode du « je » entraînent le lecteur dans un univers à la fois étrange et familier, celui d’une Amérique de la Beat Generation, d’un âge d’or du film noir hollywoodien.

Broché, 16,5 x 21,5 cm
352 pages
Environ 200 photographies N&B

Photographies et texte
Sylvie Meunier

Lien vers le feuilletage vidéo





ISBN : 978-2-36511-303-8

Panier  

Aucun produit

0,00 € Livraison
0,00 € Total

Panier Commander