Masahisa Fukase New

Masahisa Fukase

Book release: October 4, 2018

 

Exhibition 

Private Scenes, FOAM Amsterdam

September 7 – December 12, 2018

 

Hardcover, 19,5 x 26 cm

Two versions: English and French

Introduction by Simon Baker, texts by Tomo Kosuga

350 colour and B&W photographs

416 pages

Related portfolio

Japanese photographer Masahisa Fukase is among the most radical and original of his generation, famous for The Solitude of Ravens, in which these birds of doom, in flocks or alone, blacken the pages cover to cover of his legendary book released in 1986. He also has a lesser-known, multifaceted corpus: formal research, superimposition, collages, self-portraits, photographs reworked as sketches, black-and-white prints, Polaroids, and more.

This monograph brings together for the very first time all of his artistic work presented over 26 series, including the ones dedicated to his father (Memories of Father); without forgetting his series on cats, including his own, Sasuke; and his famous self-portraits taken in a bathtub, with a waterproof camera (‘Bukubuku’) or in pairs (‘Berobero’) touching tongues, which he later coloured.

Essays by Simon Baker, director of the Maison Européenne de la Photographie, and Tomo Kosuga, director of the Masahisa Fukase Archives, shed light on Fukase’s multifaceted oeuvre which dramaturgy is tinged as much with irony as with provocation.

ISBN : 978-2-36511-202-4

65,00 €

Cart  

No products

0,00 € Shipping
0,00 € Total

Cart Check out

Masahisa Fukase Nouveauté

Masahisa Fukase

Exposition 

Private Scenes, FOAM Amsterdam

7 septembre - 12 décembre 2018

 

Relié, 19,5 x 26 cm

Deux versions : française et anglaise

Introduction de Simon Baker, textes de Tomo Kosuga

350 photographies couleur et N&B, 416 pages

Portfolio Private Scenes

Les médias en parlent

Connu pour The Solitude of Ravens, où des corbeaux menaçants en nuée ou solitaires noircissent des pages d’un bout à l’autre de ce livre mythique paru en 1986, le photographe japonais Masahisa Fukase, parmi les plus radicaux et les plus originaux de sa génération, possède en réalité une œuvre protéiforme : recherches formelles, surimpressions, collages, autoportraits, photographies retravaillées au dessin, tirages noir et blanc, polaroids...

Cet ouvrage rassemble pour la première fois tout son travail artistique présenté en 26 séries, avec notamment celles consacrées à son père (« Memories of Father »), sans oublier celle sur les chats, y compris le sien, Sasuke, et ses fameux autoportraits pris dans une baignoire, avec un appareil étanche (« Bukubuku ») ou en duos (« Berobero ») qui se touchent la langue et qu’il colorie par la suite.

Les textes de Simon Baker, directeur de la Maison Européenne de la Photographie, et de Tomo Kosuga, directeur des archives Masahisa Fukase, nous éclairent sur les multiples facettes de son œuvre où la dramaturgie côtoie autant l’ironie que la provocation. 

ISBN : 978-2-36511-177-5

65,00 €

voir le panier 

Panier  

Aucun produit

0,00 € Livraison
0,00 € Total

Panier Commander